Yano-San!

17 Feb

Today we woke up in Osaka Central J-Hoppers and tried to figure out what we were going to do today.
We decided to head to nipponbashi first which is the Osaka version of Akihabara aka “Electric City”. We looked around many many electrical shops full of gadgets and gizmos. I brought a stylus for my phone which had made these blog entries much easier to do on my phone.
My favourite shop was one that we found
at the end of our exploration. It was a little shop that sold vintage consols and games! If I had more room in my luggage I would have brought something.
image

image

image
image

image

We then headed to America-mura, or America town. I was told that it was like Harajuku but was very disappointed after having such high expectations. Harajuku was probably one of the highlights of my journey.

That night Yano-San took the guests of J-Hoppers out for Japanese dinner and drinks, like he does every Sunday.
Yano-San is a funny old man. In between saying “oh my god! it is bery bery cold” he also showed us some magic tricks and tried to trick is into eating plastic donuts.

image

image

image

The first place we went to I had tempura vegetables. This is probably my favourite Japanese dish so far, the sauce that it came with made it even better!
image

At the next place Lock was game enough to try sashimi…. He said it was delicious but I could tell he was lying, which he confirmed later.
image

We also tried sake warm, which I didn’t like very much, and Asahi beer.

The restaurant was famous for the sumo wrestlers that are there and it had photos of them on the wall.
image

image

We got a group photo before we left for the station.
image

At the train station Yano-San and Ko-Chan danced on the platform. I asked them to do Gangdam Style but they didn’t know what it was. Instead Ko-Chan decided to pole dance!
image

All in all it was a great night. Thanks Yano-San!
image

Leave a Reply

