Getting Lost in the Fushimi Inari Shrine

15 Feb

Today I got up after a bit of a sleep in and decided to go out for lunch. I waited around for Lock to do his washing before being told he didn’t want to come. So off I went to find somewhere to eat.
I came across a German pub on the 7th floor of a shopping center called loft and noticed they had a margarita pizza on the menu. It seemed to be one of the only non-sea food or pork things I could find for lunch and it also turned out to be the best pizza I have ever had!
image

While I was eating an older Argentinan coupe cane and sat at the table next to mine and said hello. I had a great chat to them. The gentleman was a photographer and showed me many great pictures that he had taken in his time in Japan. It really inspired me to take more thought out photographs while I am here! I also showed him my artist page and some of my paintings. Before I had to rush off to meet Lock, he asked to take a photo of me which he said he’d email through. His wife spoke little English but I did find out from her that they had been traveling around a lot and owned a shoe shop back home.

Once I finally meet up with Lock and Hanako we decided to go to Fushimi Inari Shrine. Another guy, Justin, from our accommodation who Lock had talked to decided to join us.
We got to Fushimi Inari Shrine (伏見稲荷大社, Fushimi Inari Taisha) was our next destination. We g after managing to get lost and take a train that overshot our stop. We then took a train back to the stop we were supposed to get off in but accidently got off a stop too early…. We eventually got to the shrine with maybe an hour of light left. We thought we would be able to walk the whole shrine in that time; how wrong we were!
We went to a great local Indian restaurant for dinner after our adventure. I had palak paneer, it was delicious!

All in all I think it was a great last day in Kyoto. Tomorrow we head off to Osaka but not before teaching a group of people in the common room how to play King’s Cup and going out for Kareoke!

Leave a Reply

