Kyoto, Calligraphy and Kareoke!

12 Feb

Day Two of my time in Kyoto was great.  After a bit of a sleep in we left The New Miyami Hotel and headed towards the Guesthouse we would be staying in for the 5 days we have left here.  We checked in and dropped off or bags and then went exploring down one of the main streets near where we are staying.  Once we got back to the guesthouse and had a shower we were told that there was a free Calligraphy class on.  Lock didn’t want to do it so he went out for dinner with some guys he was taking to.  I stayed and met an Aussie girl named Rachel and a Canadian comedian named Joey. We learnt how to write dream in kanji and then the Sensai was nice enough to teach me how to write my name in kanji, which also means flower in Japanese.

image

image

After this we sat around taking and Rachel mentioned she really wanted to do kareoke before she left.  Do we decided to go to kareoke. A few other people decided to come along and as we left we ended up with 10 people.  We spent a few hours at kareoke and then came back and went to sleep with plans to meet up again tomorrow.

Hannah x

3 Responses to “Kyoto, Calligraphy and Kareoke!”

  1. theeagertraveller February 12, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    Your calligraphy strokes are nice! Are you Chinese by any chance or do you just learn really fast?

    • hannabealla February 13, 2013 at 3:12 am #

      Thank you! This was my first time doing Calligraphy, although I did do a degree in fine art which might have helped me a little bit. I’m not Chinese either, I’m off European heritage. 🙂 Have you done any Calligraphy?

      • theeagertraveller February 13, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

        Awesome you might want to rethink having calligraphy as a hobby – you’re really good at it. Actually yes, I’m 70% Chinese but I’m pretty sure my first try wasn’t as neat as yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

