Planning Part Four – Osaka

21 Jan

The Fourth town in the trip is Osaka! I’ll be staying here for 5 whole days.

I’ll have to find many things to do. Here are a few that I have found so far:

  • National Museum of Art – because I love art!
  • Osaka Contemporary Art Center
  • Shitennoji Temple
  • National Bunraku Theater – traditional Japanese pupper theater! – who wouldn’t love this!
  • Tempozan Ferris Wheel – I hear it’s a great view. I will take some photos while I’m on it and share! it was the World’s tallest ferris wheel from 1997-1999… and I’m scared of hights… this will be interesting!
  • Festival Gate Theme Park
  • Tennōji Zoo
  • Tamatsukuri Inari Shrine – built in 12 BCE… so old!
  • Osaka Castle Park 
  • Universal Studios Japan – I’m not so sure about this one…
  • Nanba Grand Kagetsu – another theater
  • Shitennoji Temple – The oldest temple in Japan, built over 1,400 years ago!
  • Nobeha no Yu Tsuruhashi or Spa World – Public Baths – why not!?
  • Umeda Joypolis Sega – games! this building even has a ferris wheel on the roof.
  • Osaka Tenmangu Shrine
  • America Mura (American village) – apparently this is simmilar to Harajuku and if it is I’m sure I’ll love it
  • Isshinji Temple – this one is a bit creepy – Its mausoleum houses an unusual thing — 12 Buddha statues made of human bones. The practice started in 1887 when the first statue was made from the bones of 50,000 corpses. Bones are donated by families and collected. A new statue is made every 10 years or so.

Anyway I think I covered everything. As always, if you know of somewhere you think I should visit that I haven’t mentioned let me know, or if you have visited any of these places share your experience with me in the comments.

Hannah x

 Osaka
5 Responses to “Planning Part Four – Osaka”

  1. Z January 21, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    Hello! I living in Osaka right now and it’s a great place with many things to do! One simply cannot visit Osaka without going to Shinsaibashi/Dotonbori; it is right next to Ame-mura and Namba so you can visit all three in one day.

    If you like sea creatures, there is the kaiyukan. One of the world’s biggest aquarium.

    If you’re going to USJ, make sure you go on an off day (Tues-Thurs) and plan your rides accordingly. You’ll spend most of your time waiting in line even when it is “not busy”. I been there last December and it was pretty fun but I could definitely have managed my time better.

    I blog about all the places and things I do while in Osaka too so feel free to take a gander at my blog and maybe you can get some new ideas on what to do while here. And also feel free to ask me anything if you have any questions 🙂

    Have a great time!

    • hannabealla January 21, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      WOW! You’re lucky to be living there now! how long have you been there for? I noticed you were studying there.
      I’m a bit scared that I’ll love Japan so much that I’ll never want to leave and then I’ll have to and it will be sad.
      Thank you for all the suggestions. Its so good to have someone with experience and knowledge of the area willing to help out! 🙂
      I’m still not sure if I’m super keen on USJ, I’m not sure if it’ll be worth it when there are so many things to see.
      I followed your blog so I’m sure I’ll get many more ideas on where to go by checking it out!

      • Z January 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

        I’ve been in Japan since last August and loving every week of it. I make a point to go out to somewhere I haven’t been to before or see if I can find anything new about places that I have already been to every week. Trying to see as much of this country as I can before my time is up later this summer :).

        USJ’s 6000 yen entrance fee might be a bit tough to swallow especially after going to Disneyland in Tokyo. Unless you think you can absolutely fit in everything you want to do there, or stay from 9 am to 10 pm (closing), it might be a hard to get your money’s worth out if it. It’s certainly a fun place but I think you can pass on it if you have already been to Disneyland.

        Thanks for checking out my blog ^^

  2. Z January 21, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Oh sorry I didn’t realize my profile is linking to the wrong blog. My Osaka/Kansai blog is http://www.kansai-inochi.com

    • hannabealla January 21, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      🙂

Leave a Reply

