Planning Part One – Tokyo

20 Nov

Trying to put together an itinerary for a month is quite overwhelming!

I think that I will just have to split up Japan and focus on one city at a time.

So here it is… Planning Part One: Tokyo!

There are SO MANY things I want to do in Tokyo! Here is the list I have so far:

  • Ghibli Museum
  • Disney Land
  • Shop in Takeshita-Dori
  • Edo-Tokyo Museum
  • Go to Sugame for a taste of traditional Japan
  • Pokemon Centre
  •  Akihabara
  • Tokyo Animation Center
  • Sword Museum
  • Go and see the Cosplayers on Chuo Dori (and maybe do a bit of cosplaying myself)
  • Go up the Tokyo Tower

If anyone reading this has been to Tokyo and wants to suggest places to go, I’m all ears ^_^

I still have to figure out where I will be staying. I’m sure it would probably be smarter to pre-book as my flight gets in pretty late at night. The capsule hotels look like a bit of fun and also good for me as I’m on a bit of a budget (again anyone who knows any hotels at a good price please let me know).

Hannah x

Image

4 Responses to “Planning Part One – Tokyo”

  1. Z January 21, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    If you have the time on a sunny day or clear night, go up the Tokyo Metropolitan Government building in Shinjuku. Their observatory is free and opens until 11 PM. You can get a grand view of Tokyo from there and even a chance to see mt. Fuji in the background. If you want anything to do eat, there is “Piss Alley”, known for their yakitori, on your way to the building from Shinjuku station.

    http://kansai-inochi.com/2012/12/11/tokyo-shinjuku-part-2/

    • hannabealla January 21, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      I’ll be here in a week and a half so I don’t think there will be a lot of sunny days. But from your post it looks amazing so I will definitely be sure to add it to my list of things to do 🙂
      Piss Alley really doesn’t sound that appealing… is that what it is really called?!

      • Z January 21, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

        Haha the name of the area actually translates into “memory lane” and Piss Alley is just what some locals call it because that’s what it was called back in the day before modernization; the place is clean now ^^. As its real name implies, the alley harkens back to the “good old days” of a more local Japan. You’ll find a lot of tiny restaurants there with a really friendly and local atmosphere. Even if you don’t stop by to eat, you can take a peak to get a a glimpse of “real” Japan.

        Another similar area is “Golden street” on the other side of Shinjuku in Kabukicho. Similar local atmosphere with lots of tiny bars. But beware: It’s inside Shinjuku’s infamous red light district so it might be a bit sketchy.

      • hannabealla January 22, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

        Oh wow!
        I’m really glad that it isn’t actually called Piss Alley, I was having a tough time believing that the food is great in a place with a name like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

