I Was Always Told To Be Prepared!

4 Nov

Do you think I’m prepared enough?

Konnichiwa!
Watashino namae wa Hannah des!
Welcome to my blog!

I have brought my tickets to Japan!!!
It is still a few months until I go but I am preparing and doing some research before I go.
There are so many things I would like to do!
Shopping for lolita and cosplay on Takeshita-dori is a must! I hope that there is an anime festival of some kind on while I am there.

I’ve been trying to learn a bit of Japanese. Hopefully I have enough to get by (I hear many Japanese people speak English anyway).

Hannah x

3 Responses to “I Was Always Told To Be Prepared!”

  1. Z January 21, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Oh I should have read your first blog post before replying to the other posts since now that I have a better idea of when you are coming to Japan xD.

    Prepare to spend a lot on transportation. That’s going to be one of the biggest hidden drain on your wallet since the trains here charge based on distance. It’s very common to spend around 600-1000+ yen for a roundtrip around the city. This is because Japan (mainly Tokyo) has like a gazillion train lines that charges separately when you need to transfer to another train or subway. If you are gonna go city hopping, it will be quite more. You should look into one-day passes at the station that will allow you to continuously ride the trains or subway. Another alternative is to just buy a charge card (SUICA) and load it up with money so you don’t have to wait in line each time to buy a ticket.

    Lastly, do not put too much faith in people knowing how to speak English in Japan. Many signs, directions, and information will have English on them but people in general do not really speak English. If you can’t speak Japanese, you’ll be communicating with the Japanese people by means of hand gestures and keywords most of the time. At the very least, familiarize yourself with phrases and words use in a dining/restaurant/shopping setting. Good luck!

    • hannabealla January 21, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      Thank you 🙂
      I have tried to learn some Japanese. I was really hoping that English was spoken a bit, but that is okay. I have watched a lot of Anime in my time and maybe that will help me recognise some more words haha

      I brought a JR Pass here in Australia which will cover the trains from city to city but not the ones in cities. Would you say it would be cheaper to take a taxi then to ride the train? Someone was telling me taxis are very cheap.

      • Z January 21, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

        I am pretty certain that it would not be cheaper to take the taxi; there is already a charge just for getting into the taxi. I’m not even sure if it will even be faster given the congestion in the city. The cheapest option would actually be the bus but it’s also the slowest.

Leave a Reply

